Deactivation does nothing for your privacy
I thought deactivating my Facebook account would stop the social network from tracking me online. But Facebook kept tabs on me anyway.
Over the past year, I’ve tried to minimize my presence on Facebook. I deleted a 10-year-old account and replaced it with a dummy account that I use as little as possible. I deleted the app from my phone.
As of January, I started deactivating my dummy account every time I used it, rather than just log out. I couldn’t break up completely with Facebook because I needed it to sign up twice a week for a workshop.
I thought the precautions would reduce how much data Facebook gathered about me. Turns out, I was wasting my time.
Even when your account is deactivated, the social network continues collecting data about your online activities. All that data gets sent back to Facebook and is tied to your account while it’s in this state of limbo. It’s as if you’d changed nothing.
Facebook says it only removes all of your data if you permanently delete your account. Deactivating isn’t as extreme, the company says, and the…
More Here: cNet.com