5 democrats draft bill to make congress lose pay during any government shutdown!

Sharing is Caring!

There may still be a few in the dem party who have some integrity. They are tired of their party playing politics.

Five Democratic senators—not coincidentally, all five are from states won by President Trump in the 2016 presidential election—introduced legislation Friday to withhold pay from members of Congress whenever there is a government shutdown.
Sens. Heidi Heitkamp (ND), Claire McCaskill (MO), Jon Tester (MT), Debbie Stabenow (MI), and Joe Manchin (WV)—all of whom are up for reelection this year—announced the bill Friday, hours before the GOP shut down funding for all government services. As Heitkamp said in a statement,
If members of Congress can’t fulfill their basic duty to keep the government open and provide the essential services Americans depend on, then they don’t deserve their paycheck. Period.

Stabenow echoed Heitkamp’s remarks in the statement and vowed to donate her salary in the event of a shutdown even if the bill doesn’t pass.
“It’s wrong that members of Congress would still get paid in the event of a shutdown while paychecks for members of our military could be disrupted,” Stabenow said. “This bill ensures members of Congress will not get paid and another bill I have cosponsored makes sure our troops will.”
Democratic Reps. Sean Patrick Maloney (NY) and Stephanie Murphy (FL) also vowed Friday to forgo their pay. The government shut down at midnight Friday night, the first shutdown since 2013:

h/t 40Head

READ  Amazon driver attacks 67-year-old woman during delivery dispute
READ  Cyber Attacks Sweep The Internet: Universities, Government & Internet Outages (Let's Talk...)

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.