These Democrats Want to Abolish Electoral College

by Amna El Tawil
Back in November, the Huffington Post reported that two-thirds of Democrats want to abolish the Electoral College while 4 out of 10 responded they would refuse to accept Donald Trump as the legitimate President of the United States. In fact, 41% people supported the idea of amending the Constitution so that the candidate with the greater number of popular vote goes to the White House.

Hillary Clinton’s supporters didn’t have any issue with the Electoral College before. But now, when she didn’t win – suddenly they have a major problem and want it scrapped. Democrats in both the House and Senate have introduced a legislation whose primary goal is to build a pressure to abolish the system that is two centuries old and replace it with a popular vote. Under this change, Hillary Clinton would become the 45th President of the USA, considering the fact she won 2.8 million more votes than Trump.
Sen. Barbara Boxer, D-Calif., already proposed a resolution to amend the constitution and end the Electoral College. Dozens of her colleagues are supporting the resolution. Some Democrats support the idea even though they haven’t joined the legislation yet.
The Washington Examiner revealed names of Democrats who want to abolish the Electoral College, sponsors, and co-sponsors:

  • Barbara Boxer, D-Calif.


  • Dianne Feinstein, D-Calif.


  • Kirsten Gillibrand, D-N.Y.


  • Bill Nelson, D-Fla.


  • Dick Durbin, D-Ill. (tweeted support on Dec. 20)


  • Bernie Sanders, D-Vt. (called for changes on Dec. 19)

Members of the House of Representatives:

READ  Democrats Sworn In As New Senators, Take Control Of House, Senate and Presidency
READ  Are The Democrats Really in a Bear Market?
  • Brendan Boyle, D-Pa.
  • Julia Brownley, D-Calif.
  • David Cicilline, D-R.I.
  • Yvette Clarke, D-N.Y.
  • Steve Cohen, D-Tenn.
  • John Conyers, D-Mich. (op-ed on Dec. 16)
  • Jim Cooper, D-Tenn.
  • Keith Ellison, D-Minn.
  • John Garamendi, D-Calif.
  • Gene Green, D-Texas
  • Jared Huffman, D-Calif.
  • Steve Israel, D-N.Y.
  • Ted Lieu, D-Calif.
  • James McGovern, D-Mass.
  • Mark Pocan, D-Wis.
  • Charlie Rangel, D-N.Y.
  • Jan Schakowsky, D-Ill.
  • Jose Serrano, D-N.Y.
  • Brad Sherman, D-Calif.
  • Adam Smith, D-Wash.
  • Jackie Speier, D-Calif.
  • Eric Swalwell, D-Calif.
  • Juan Vargas, D-Calif.
  • Filemon Vela, D-Texas